kaka allstar

ORLANDO, Fla. (July 7, 2017) – Orlando City captain Kaká has been named to the 2017 MLS All-Star Game presented by Target as a Fan XI selection, joining a star-studded roster to face reigning UEFA Champions League and La Liga title holders Real Madrid. 

Kaká is selected for the third-consecutive year in as many MLS seasons. The Brazilian attacker was named captain and earned MLS All-Star Most Valuable Player honors by registering a goal and an assist against English Premier League side Tottenham Hotspur in the 2015 edition before captaining the MLS best talents in 2016 against Arsenal.

City’s captain has started nine of his 13 appearances this season, scoring three goals and adding four assists. 

The 2017 MLS All-Star gameday roster, consisting of 24 players, will be announced in mid-July and will include the 2017 MLS All-Star Fan XI presented by Target, two Commissioner’s Picks, and 11 players selected by All-Star Head Coach Veljko Paunović, whose Chicago Fire have the most points in MLS.

The 2017 MLS All-Stars will face off against Real Madrid, the reigning La Liga and UEFA Champions League title holders. One of the most successful clubs in the world, Real Madrid have claimed a record 33 La Liga championships and 12 UEFA Champions League titles, as well as capturing the UEFA Super Cup and the FIFA Club World Cup on multiple occasions. Under the direction of the legendary Zinedine Zidane, the club is home to international superstars such as four-time Ballon d’Or recipient Cristiano Ronaldo, 27-year-old star Gareth Bale, and four-time La Liga Best Defender Sergio Ramos.

The MLS All-Star Team will take on Spanish giants Real Madrid in the 2017 MLS All-Star Game presented by Target at Soldier Field in Chicago on Wednesday, Aug. 2 at 8:30 p.m. ET, live on FS1, UniMás, TSN, and TVA Sports.

2017 MLS All-Star Fan XI presented by Target

Goalkeeper: Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids)

Defenders: Greg Garza (Atlanta United), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City), DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo)

Midfielders: Bastian Schweinsteiger (Chicago Fire), Miguel Almirón (Atlanta United), Kaká (Orlando City SC), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC)

Forwards: David Villa (New York City FC), Nemanja Nikolić (Chicago Fire), Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC – EA SPORTS™ “More Than a Vote” Challenge)