Pride in the W-League: Grand Final Recap

Pride in the W-League: Grand Final Recap

This past weekend saw the conclusion of the 2019-20 Westfield W-League season, with three members of the Orlando Pride taking the field in Saturday’s Grand Final.

The matchup resulted in Melbourne City becoming the first W-League club to win four titles, securing the Premier-Championship double for the season with a 1-0 victory over Sydney FC on Saturday. The Pride’s Emily van Egmond and Claire Emslie each earned their first W-League title with the win. 

Saturday, March 21:

Melbourne City 1, Sydney FC 0
Melbourne City won the title on Saturday thanks to an eventual game-winner from former Orlando Pride defender Steph Catley, scoring in the 15th minute of play for the home side. Pride midfielder Emily van Egmond earned an assist on the finish, her first of the campaign to total seven goal contributions to finish the year. Both van Egmond and Pride forward Claire Emslie played the entirety of the match for City, while Orlando teammate Alanna Kennedy featured for the full 90 for Sydney FC.


September 11, 2020: Major League Soccer has announced the 2020 regular season schedule through the end of September. From September 18-27, each MLS club will compete in three regular season matches. Additional 2020 MLS regular season matches will be announced pending further developments regarding travel protocols. Attendance at matches will be determined in accordance with applicable state and local guidelines.