Pride in the W-League | Nairn Scores Screamer

Pride in the W-League | Nairn Scores Screamer

Sydney FC 5, Adelaide United 2 (recap / highlights)
Alanna Kennedy and Sydney FC continued their offensive tear this weekend, racking up five goals for the second week in a row to beat Adelaide United 5-2, handing Adelaide its first loss of the season. Veronica Latsko recorded two goals for Adelaide but Sydney posted four, second-half goals - including a brace for Princess Ibini - to push Sydney into playoff position. Kennedy recorded another 90 minute performance for her hometown team, finishing with two shots. 

Perth Glory 2, Newcastle Jets 2 (recap / highlights)
Perth Glory opened scoring in just the fourth minute of play but two goals from Katie Stengel in one minute put the Jets ahead 2-1. However, Sam Kerr added to her goal total, powering home a 27th minute penalty kick for the 2-2 final. Pride forward Rachel Hill looked to setup Caitlin Doeglas in the 82nd minute but Portland Thorns goalkeeper Britt Eckerstrom came up with a big save to hold the draw. Hill finished with five shots over 90 minutes, while Emily van Egmond totaled a game-high 83 touches and two shots for Newcastle. 

Brisbane Roar 4, Melbourne Victory 3 (recap / highlights)
Down 1-0, Christine Nairn leveled the match with a highlight reel set-piece goal but it would be the only time the game was even as Brisbane built a 3-1 lead before seeing a 4-3 final. Pride forward Chioma Ubogagu setup Brisbane’s second goal of the evening, whipping in a cross that deflected off Victory goalkeeper Casey Dumont and in for an own goal. Another own goal made it a two-goal cushion for the Roar and, despite a late push, Victory couldn’t complete the rally. Nairn, Carson Pickett and Dani Weatherholt all played 90 minutes for their respective sides while Ubogagu posted a 58 minute appearance. 

Canberra United, Melbourne City FC, Western Sydney Wanderers: Bye

Up Next: Round 8 Fixtures
Thurs., Dec. 20: 
Brisbane Roar vs. Western Sydney (3:30 a.m. ET, ESPN+)

Fri., Dec. 21:
Perth Glory vs. Sydney FC (2:30 a.m. ET, ESPN+)
Adelaide United vs. Melbourne Victory (3:30 a.m. ET)

Sat., Dec. 22: 
Melbourne City vs. Canberra United (1 a.m. ET)