Picket Equalizer

Pride in the W-League: Carson Pickett Scores Equalizer

Sydney FC 3, Western Sydney 0 (recap / highlights)
The 2018-19 W-League campaign got started with a marquee Sydney derby, as Sydney FC defeated crosstown rival Western Sydney 3-0. Portland Thorns forward Caitlin Foord scored two goals in the match, bookending a 60th-minute score from Chloe Logarzo. Orlando Pride midfielder Alanna Kennedy did not play in the match as she continues recovery from an offseason ankle surgery.

Brisbane United 1, Perth Glory 1 (recap / highlights)
Despite outshooting Glory 15-7, the Roar needed late-game heroics to steal a point in the season opener, but were able to do so courtesy of a Carson Pickett-Chioma Ubogagu connection. Perth opened things up in the 54th minute off a goal from Chicago Red Stars midfielder Alyssa Mautz. But in the 88th minute, Ubogagu lofted a perfectly placed ball into the box for Pickett to run onto, slamming the ball into the upper corner. Pride forward Rachel Hill kicked off her second W-League campaign, totaling two shots over 90 minutes.

Canberra United 2, Melbourne City 0 (recap / highlights)
A revamped and rebuilt Canberra United team knocked off the defending champion in Round 1, shutting out Melbourne City 2-0 on Sunday. South African forward Rhoda Mulaudzi scored her first W-League goal in the 57th minute and Portland Thorns defender Ellie Carpenter added an insurance goal in the 85th.

Melbourne Victory 0, Adelaide United 0 (recap / highlights)
The Pride midfield duo of Christine Nairn and Dani Weatherholt partnered up again for the W-League’s opening round, both playing all 90 minutes for Melbourne Victory in a scoreless stalemate over Adelaide. Victory controlled the offensive end, posting 24 total shots - four from both Nairn and Weatherholt. Nairn had one of Victory’s best scoring chances in the match, but her 51st-minute strike floated just over the bar.

Newcastle Jets (Emily van Egmond): Bye

Up Next: Round 2 Fixtures
Thurs., Nov. 1:
Melbourne Victory vs. Newcastle Jets (4:30 a.m. ET, ESPN+)

Fri., Nov. 2:
Melbourne City vs. Sydney FC (2:20 a.m. ET, ESPN+)

Sun., Nov. 4:
Western Sydney vs. Brisbane Roar (12:30 a.m. ET)
Canberra United vs. Perth Glory (1 a.m. ET)


UPDATE: April 17, 2020 - Based on the most recent government guidance, Major League Soccer has extended the postponement of its matches until at least June 8. Major League Soccer remains focused on playing the entire 2020 season, and is evaluating all options, including pushing back the end of the season and playing MLS Cup in December or later. Throughout this process, MLS will continue to prioritize the safety of our fans, players, employees and partners and to coordinate with federal and local public health authorities as well as other sporting organizations.