Orlando Pride Announces Protected List for 2020 NWSL Expansion Draft

ORLANDO, Fla. (Nov. 5, 2020) — Orlando Pride has announced its protected player list ahead of the 2020 National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) Expansion Draft. The Draft, which will take place on Thursday, Nov. 12 at 7 p.m. ET, will see expansion side Racing Louisville FC select up to 16 players for its inaugural roster. 

The Pride, as well as the eight other active NWSL teams, were allowed to protect up to 11 players, with a maximum two (2) U.S. Federation Players on that list. Racing will have the opportunity to select either two (2) non-U.S. Federation players or one (1) U.S. Federation Players from each team, with a maximum of two (2) U.S. Federation players taken overall in the draft. 

The complete Expansion Draft rules can be found at the link here

The Expansion Draft, which is the third in league history and first since the Pride joined the league in 2015, will be streamed live on Twitch. 

Orlando Pride Protected List:
Claire Emslie
Taylor Kornieck
Sydney Leroux
Phoebe McClernon
Jade Moore
Alex Morgan
Courtney Petersen
Ali Riley
Emily Sonnett

Marta Vieira da Silva
Marisa Viggiano

*Denotes U.S. Women’s National Team Federation Player