Five Orlando Pride Players Named to 2020 Allocation List

2020 allocated players

ORLANDO, Fla. (Feb. 20, 2020) - The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) has released the list of allocated players from the United States and Canada for the 2020 season. Five members of the Orlando Pride have been named to the list, with goalkeeper Ashlyn Harris, defenders Emily Sonnett and Ali Krieger, along with forward Alex Morgan allocated by the U.S. Women’s National Team and defender Shelina Zadorsky allocated by the Canadian Soccer Association. 

Each of the five represented their respective nations this past summer in France at the 2019 edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup, with Harris, Krieger, Sonnett and Morgan all helping the U.S. Women’s National Team to their second-consecutive World Cup title. 

Krieger, who was allocated by U.S. Soccer from 2013-17, returns to its allocation list after helping lead the U.S. to its 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup title. For the Pride, Krieger made 12 appearances in 2019, tallying one assist in that time, earning 2019 NWSL Best XI honors.  

At the club level, Harris eclipsed the centennial mark for NWSL appearances in 2019, recording 13 starts for the Pride last season. In that span, the Orlando captain registered 58 saves and one clean sheet, earning NWSL Save of the Week honors four times.

Morgan joined Harris and Krieger this past summer in becoming a two-time FIFA Women’s World Cup Champion, earning the Silver Boot at the tournament with six goals scored. For the Pride, she made six appearances in 2019 before seeing her season cut short due to injury. 

This past offseason, Sonnett was acquired by Orlando as part of a trade with the Portland Thorns for the No. 1 overall selection in the 2020 NWSL College Draft. In four seasons in Portland, Sonnett made 72 appearances, scoring six goals and logging two assists. In 2019, she appeared in 13 matches, netting two goals in that span, and was named to the 2019 NWSL Second XI. 

Canadian international Shelina Zadorsky rounds out the Pride earning 2020 allocation status. In 2019, Zadorsky made 16 appearances, all of which were starts, scoring one goal. 

2020 NWSL Allocated Players List (by club):

Chicago Red Stars
Morgan Brian (USA)
Tierna Davidson (USA)
Julie Ertz (USA)
Alyssa Naeher (USA)
Casey Short (USA)

Houston Dash
Allysha Chapman (CSA)
Nichelle Prince (CSA)
Sophie Schmidt (CSA)

North Carolina Courage
Abby Dahlkemper (USA)
Crystal Dunn (USA)
Stephanie Labbé (CSA)
Samantha Mewis (USA)

Orlando Pride
Ashlyn Harris (USA)
Ali Krieger (USA)

Alex Morgan (USA)
Emily Sonnett (USA)
Shelina Zadorsky (CSA)

Portland Thorns FC
Adrianna Franch (USA)
Tobin Heath (USA)
Lindsey Horan (USA)
Christine Sinclair (CSA)

Reign FC
Allie Long (USA)
Megan Rapinoe (USA)

Sky Blue FC
Carli Lloyd (USA)
Mallory Pugh (USA)
Kailen Sheridan (CSA)

Utah Royals FC
Diana Matheson (CSA)
Kelley O’Hara (USA)
Christen Press (USA)
Becky Sauerbrunn (USA)
Desiree Scott (CSA)

Washington Spirit
Rose Lavelle (USA)

* = New Allocated Player in 2020

The Orlando Pride will open their 2020 season on Sunday, April 19 when they host Sky Blue FC at Exploria Stadium. The full list of 2020 NWSL home openers can be found here