xi van

Breaking Down the XI | Mixing It Up

Orlando City is set to take on the Vancouver Whitecaps at Orlando City Stadium and head coach James O’Connor has made some adjustments to his starting lineup.

In goal, the ever-present Brian Rowe will start his eighth consecutive match of the season. Rowe is the only player to start every match of the 2019 season thus far.

At the back, O’Connor will go four wide today with João Moutinho, Robin Jansson, Lamine Sané and Ruan. Expect Moutinho and Ruan to still work high up the flanks while receiving defensive help from the midfield.

In the midfield, three of Orlando’s top four passers (by percentage) will look to transition City’s attack. Sebas Méndez, Uri Rosell, and Will Johnson will start together for this first time this season.

In the forward three we will see the dynamic trio in Nani, Dom Dwyer, and Chris Mueller.

Starting XI presented by Orlando Health: Rowe, Moutinho, Jansson, Sané, Ruan, Méndez, Rosell, Johnson, Nani, Dwyer, Mueller.

Bench: Akindele, Colmán, Higuita, Kljestan, Miller, Ranjitsingh, Smith.

September 11, 2020: Major League Soccer has announced the 2020 regular season schedule through the end of September. From September 18-27, each MLS club will compete in three regular season matches. Additional 2020 MLS regular season matches will be announced pending further developments regarding travel protocols. Attendance at matches will be determined in accordance with applicable state and local guidelines.