USL League One Unveils 2019 Season Structure

USL League One Unveils 2019 Season Structure

USL League One announced on Thursday 10 teams will compete in a single table during the inaugural 2019 season, with the league’s regular season consisting of 28 games.

“This is an exciting moment for the league, as the competition format for the first season in USL League One history was approved by the Board of Governors today,” USL League One Senior Vice President Steven Short said. “Kickoff is nearly four months away, so fans and followers of the 10 clubs set to compete can expect many major announcements in the next few months, including the full schedule release.”

The 2019 regular season will kick off the weekend of March 29-31 and is slated to conclude on the weekend of Oct. 4-6. The 2019 USL League One Playoffs, which will consist of four teams, begin the weekend of Oct. 11-13, with the final match of the postseason set to take place from Oct. 17-21.

The 28-game season will see each club play eight clubs three times, apart from one club that they will play four times.


UPDATE: June 10, 2020 - Major League Soccer announced it will restart the 2020 season with all 26 MLS clubs competing in the MLS is Back Tournament at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex at the Walt Disney World Resort in Florida beginning July 8. Upon completion of the tournament, MLS plans to continue its regular season with a revised schedule in home markets. The revised schedule may see certain matches from the original 2020 MLS regular season schedule being cancelled or rescheduled. The final number of matches and the schedule for the remainder of the 2020 MLS regular season and related ticket policies will be announced in the coming weeks.