Opening Day Roster

Orlando City SC Announces 2018 Opening Day Roster

ORLANDO, Fla. (March 2, 2018) - Orlando City SC announces its 2018 Opening Day roster ahead of its fourth Major League Soccer (MLS) season.

Orlando City will carry four goalkeepers, nine defenders, 12 midfielders and four forwards on Opening Day. City’s Designated Players include USMNT forward Dom Dwyer, two-time reigning MLS assist king Sacha Kljestan and 19-year-old Paraguayan Josué Colmán as a Young Designated Player. On Wednesday it was announced that defender Jonathan Spector was named the second Captain in Club history.

On the back line, City’s offseason acquisitions include long-time French Ligue 1 and German Bundesliga center back Lamine Sané, Egyptian-American defender Amro Tarek and Libya national team left back Mohamed El-Munir. City’s new goalkeeper is 2015 USL Cup champion Adam Grinwis.

In addition to Colmán and Kljestan, the Lions’ new midfielders include 2017 ACC Midfielder of the Year and Homegrown Cam Lindley, 2013 MLS Cup champion Oriol “Uri” Rosell and two-time MLS Cup champion and Homegrown Jose Villarreal. And at forward, City features Iraqi international Justin Meram, reigning NCAA D-1 assist leader Chris Mueller and two-time NASL Golden Boot winner Stéfano Pinho.

Additionally, Orlando City SC has signed defender Chris Schuler to a two-year contract with Club option included as a Free Agent. Schuler, who played eight years at Real Salt Lake, including four under Jason Kreis, has been on trial with City since preseason began.

Key: 1 - International, 2 - Designated Player, 3 - Young Designated Player, 4 - Homegrown, 5 - Generation adidas

GOALKEEPERS (4): Joe Bendik, Earl Edwards, Jr., Adam Grinwis, Mason Stajduhar4

DEFENDERS (9): RJ Allen, Mohamed El-Munir1, PC1, Lamine Sané1, Chris Schuler, Jonathan Spector, Scott Sutter, Amro Tarek, Donny Toia

MIDFIELDERS (12): Josué Colmán1-3, Pierre Da Silva, Cristian Higuita, Will Johnson, Sacha Kljestan2, Richie Laryea1-5, Cam Lindley4, Dillon Powers, Tony Rocha, Oriol Rosell1, Jose Villarreal4, Yoshimar Yotún1

FORWARDS (4): Dom Dwyer2, Justin Meram, Chris Mueller, Stéfano Pinho


UPDATE: June 10, 2020 - Major League Soccer announced it will restart the 2020 season with all 26 MLS clubs competing in the MLS is Back Tournament at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex at the Walt Disney World Resort in Florida beginning July 8. Upon completion of the tournament, MLS plans to continue its regular season with a revised schedule in home markets. The revised schedule may see certain matches from the original 2020 MLS regular season schedule being cancelled or rescheduled. The final number of matches and the schedule for the remainder of the 2020 MLS regular season and related ticket policies will be announced in the coming weeks.