USL Alignment

USL Announces Alignment and Format for OCB’s Inaugural 2016 Season

ORLANDO, Fla. – Jan 20, 2016 – The United Soccer League (USL) today announced the alignment, regular season and playoff format for Orlando City B’s inaugural 2016 USL season, with 29 teams set to compete in the league’s sixth season in pursuit of the USL Cup.

Orlando City B will be one of six new teams joining the USL in 2016, as Bethlehem Steel FC, FC Cincinnati, Rio Grande Valley FC, the Swope Park Rangers and San Antonio are also set to compete in the new campaign.

The USL will continue in a two-conference format, with 14 teams making up the Eastern Conference and 15 teams making up the Western Conference. The 30-game regular season will be conducted over 27 weeks, which will kick off on March 25 and conclude on Sept. 25.

Eastern Conference
Bethlehem Steel FC
Charleston Battery
Charlotte Independence   
FC Cincinnati
Harrisburg City Islanders
Louisville City FC
FC Montreal
New York Red Bulls II
Orlando City B
Pittsburgh Riverhounds
Richmond Kickers
Rochester Rhinos
Toronto FC II
Wilmington Hammerheads FC

Western Conference
Arizona United SC
Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC
LA Galaxy II
OKC Energy FC
Orange County Blues FC
Portland Timbers 2
Real Monarchs SLC
Rio Grande Valley FC
Sacramento Republic FC
Saint Louis FC
San Antonio
Seattle Sounders FC 2
Swope Park Rangers
Tulsa Roughnecks FC
Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2


The team with the best record across both conferences will earn the 2016 Regular Season Title. The top eight teams in each conference will then advance to the 2016 USL Playoffs, which will see a single-elimination bracket crown two conference champions. The two conference champions will advance to the 2016 USL Championship, to be hosted by the conference champion with the better regular-season record.

Commanded by longtime Lions’ players, Head Coach Anthony Pulis, Assistant Coach Rob Valentino and veteran leader Lewis Neal, OCB has been comprising a promising squad, with the team acquiring seven talented players last week, aiming to continue City’s previous USL success, including three regular season titles and two postseason championships.



UPDATE: June 10, 2020 - Major League Soccer announced it will restart the 2020 season with all 26 MLS clubs competing in the MLS is Back Tournament at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex at the Walt Disney World Resort in Florida beginning July 8. Upon completion of the tournament, MLS plans to continue its regular season with a revised schedule in home markets. The revised schedule may see certain matches from the original 2020 MLS regular season schedule being cancelled or rescheduled. The final number of matches and the schedule for the remainder of the 2020 MLS regular season and related ticket policies will be announced in the coming weeks.