U16 ODP Championship Winners

OCYS Staff Leads Florida ODP Program to National Championship

Two weekends ago, a historic moment occured for soccer in Florida.  The U16 Florida Olympic Development Program (ODP) won it's first ever national ODP championship in Frisco, TX.  Leading the team were Head Coach Steve Lyons and Assistant Coach Eric Sellick.  Both Sellick (Boys Director of Coaching) and Lyons (Junior Academy Director) are members of the OCYS staff.

The ODP team is comprised of players from the whole state, but four of the newly-crowned champions hail from Central Florida.  All four (highlighted in RED below) will be suiting up for Orlando City in this summer's Super Y-League.  Midfielder Johnny Nartowicz was instrumental in the setting up the opening goal of the final match that saw Florida defeat Michigan 3-0.

Here's the full roster of the Florida 1996s (U16):
F - Mario Da Silva
F - Morgan Shephard
F - Bradley Farias
M - Johnny Nartowicz (Dr. Phillips HS)
M - Dennis Zapata (University HS)
M - Salvadore Perez (Freedom HS)
M - Ruben Briceno
M - Eduardo Ronderos
M - Jorge Zavala
M - Brandon Broadwell
D - Kevin Byrne
D - Samuel Vinson
D - Andre Blackman
D - Joshua Ruckdeschel
D - Alex Chopra (Hagerty HS)
D - Austin Sandel
GK - Logan Jones
GK - Braeden Luna