Yoshimar Yotún Selected to 2018 MLS All-Star Game

Yoshimar Yotún Selected to 2018 MLS All-Star Game

Orlando City SC midfielder Yoshimar Yotún has been selected to play in the 2018 MLS All-Star Game presented by Target. The MLS All-Stars will face Italian giant Juventus FC on Wednesday, Aug. 1, at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta. Kickoff is set for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be nationally televised on ESPN and UniMás.

Yotún is one of 14 MLS All-Stars selected by Atlanta United head coach Gerardo Martino, while two players were selected by MLS Commissioner Don Garber and 11 were selected by fans.

Yotún, 28, recently finished competing at the 2018 FIFA World Cup for his native Peru. Yotún started all three of Peru’s group stage matches and was an integral part of Los Incas first World Cup qualification in 36 years.

Yotún has made 20 starts among 20 appearances in MLS for Orlando City, scoring four goals and adding nine assists. Yotún has three goals and five assists in 10 MLS appearances and has been selected three times to the MLS Team of the Week in 2018. Yotún originally joined the Lions in August 2017.

In 2015, former Orlando City captain Kaká scored a goal and assisted against Tottenham Hotspur on his way to MLS All-Star MVP honors. Then in 2016, Kaká and Cyle Larin were named to the MLS All-Star Game against Arsenal FC. Kaká was selected to his third All-Star game in 2017, alongside newly acquired forward Dom Dwyer, who scored the equalizer against Real Madrid.

2018 MLS All-Star Game Roster by Position

Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan^ (Atlanta United), Zack Steffen* (Columbus Crew SC)

Defenders: Francisco Calvo* (Minnesota United), Laurent Ciman^ (Los Angeles Football Club), Alphonso Davies# (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Matt Hedges* (FC Dallas), Aaron Long* (New York Red Bulls), Michael Murillo* (New York Red Bulls), Michael Parkhurst^ (Atlanta United), Graham Zusi^ (Sporting Kansas City)

Midfielders: Miguel Almirón^ (Atlanta United), Ezequiel Barco^ (Atlanta United), Jonathan dos Santos* (LA Galaxy), Alberth Elis* (Houston Dynamo), Ignacio Piatti* (Montreal Impact), Alexander Ring* (New York City FC), Ilie Sanchez* (Sporting Kansas City), Diego Valeri^ (Portland Timbers), Yoshimar Yotún* (Orlando City SC), Wilfried Zahibo* (New England Revolution)

Forwards: Sebastian Giovinco* (Toronto FC), Zlatan Ibrahimović^ (LA Galaxy), Josef Martínez^ (Atlanta United), Carlos Vela^ (Los Angeles Football Club), David Villa* (New York City FC), Bradley Wright-Phillips# (New York Red Bulls)

^Fan XI selection
*Gerardo “Tata” Martino selection
#Commissioner Don Garber selection