Orlando Pride’s Sydney Leroux Named to 2021 NWSL Best XI Second Team


ORLANDO, Fla. (Nov. 17, 2021) - Orlando Pride forward Sydney Leroux has been named to the National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) Best XI Second Team presented by Mastercard, it was announced today. The Best XI First Team and Best XI Second Team are based on a weighted voting scale comprised of players (50%), owners/GMs/coaches (20%), media (20%) and fans (10%).

Leroux led the Pride in goals in 2021 with eight, her highest total in a single season since her 2013 rookie campaign with the Boston Breakers, while adding a pair of assists to lead the side with 10 total goal contributions. The 2015 FIFA World Cup Champion started all but one match for the Pride in the regular season, finishing second on the team in minutes played behind only Gunny Jónsdóttir (2068) with 2018 while leading the side in both shots (61) and shots on target (26).

Goal | Sydney Leroux Scores Curler Against Louisville

The honor serves as the first Second XI nod of Leroux’s career and her first league honor since her 2013 rookie campaign, where she was named a finalist for NWSL Rookie of the Year and earned Best XI honors. 

The full list of the Best XI First Team and Best XI Second Team can be found below:


2021 NWSL Best XI First Team

Goalkeeper: Kailen Sheridan (NJ/NY Gotham FC)

Defenders: Caprice Dydasco (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Alana Cook (OL Reign), Sarah Gorden (Chicago Red Stars), Carson Pickett (North Carolina Courage)

Midfielders and Forwards: Ashley Hatch (Washington Spirit), Jessica Fishlock (OL Reign), Eugenie Le Sommer (OL Reign), Margaret Purce (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Trinity Rodman (Washington Spirit), Angela Salem (Portland Thorns FC)


2021 NWSL Best XI Second Team

Goalkeeper: Bella Bixby (Portland Thorns FC) 

Defenders: Emily Fox (Racing Louisville FC), Sofia Huerta (OL Reign), Meghan Klingenberg (Portland Thorns FC), Emily Menges (Portland Thorns FC)

Midfielders and Forwards: Bethany Balcer (OL Reign), Rachel Daly (Houston Dash), Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns FC), Ifeoma Onumonu (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Sydney Leroux (Orlando Pride), Mallory Pugh (Chicago Red Stars)

Each athlete will receive a cash bonus for their achievements this season as part of Mastercard’s celebration of the Best XI and Best XI Second Team.