NE US Preview

ORLANDO, Fla. (June 18, 2019) - Orlando City SC continues its run in the 2019 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup with a Round of 16 matchup against the New England Revolution on Wednesday. Kickoff is set for 7:30 p.m. ET at Exploria Stadium with the match streamed on ESPN+.

Wednesday’s match will mark the first between the Lions and New England in Open Cup play and the first at the newly named Exploria Stadium. Tickets for the Round of 16 matchup can be found here, available along the East sideline and in the Supporters' Section.

“Obviously we’re excited to be able to compete in this Round of 16 match at home. Being in front of our great supporters gives us an advantage and we want to put our best foot forward for them,” Orlando City Head Coach James O’Connor said. “New England has had a good run of form as of late, so it should be a very competitive contest.”

The Lions earned a spot in the Round of 16 following a 3-1 victory on Wednesday over Memphis 901 FC of the USL Championship League. Sacha Kljestan opened the scoring in the 38th minute by converting from the penalty spot for his first goal in Open Cup play for City. Memphis responded with a goal in the 50th, but the Lions answered with another finish from Kljestan in the 55th and Robin Jansson’s first goal for City in the 71st to earn a 3-1 victory and punch their ticket to the Round of 16.

New England fought their way to the Round of 16 in a gripping extra time win over New York Red Bulls. While New England’s scoring opened with Juan Agudelo’s early goal in the first minute of play, Teal Bunbury’s last-minute efforts clinched the game for the Revolution. Bunbury scored the equalizer in the 85th minute, sending the Revolution to extra time where he scored another goal in the 109th minute to secure the win.

A City win on Wednesday would send the Club through to the Quarterfinals, which would match its best finish in the Club’s five-year history, having reached the same round in both 2015 and 2018. Orlando would also host the Quarterfinal match against the winner of D.C. United and NYCFC.