Gala Winners

Every year the Orlando City SC family gathers to celebrate the season that was while raising money for the Orlando City Foundation. 

On Sunday night, Phil and Kay Rawlins kicked things off with their State of the Foundation and State of the Club addresses. Flávio Augusto da Silva then took the stage to talk about some of the exciting things on the horizon for Orlando City SC. Finally, both Jason Kreis and Tom Sermanni gave fantastic speeches about their goals for their respective teams moving forward.

Then, it was time for the awards as Orlando City, Orlando Pride, Orlando City B players, staff, and volunteers were all honored for the achievements throughout the year. Check out the list of winners below. 

The Media Ambassador Award

This award is presented to the player who best represents the club through social media, traditional media, LionNation, and fan engagement. As part of their award they will be gifted use of Orlando City’s suite at the Amway Center for a sporting event or concert of their choosing. 

Winner: Kristen Edmonds

Volunteer of the Year Award | Presented by Northwestern Mutual 

It takes a village to run an Orlando City game. At any given point, you’ll see volunteers on the field for presentations, directing ball managers, in the press box recording game stats and so much more. This year’s Volunteer of the Year showed an exemplary level of dedication to the club and willingness to do whatever it takes to get the job done. This person volunteered at almost every game for Orlando City, Orlando Pride and OCB plus the Copa America tournament - amazing dedication to our club! 

Winner: Jorge Lagunes

Rookie of the Year Award | Presented by Barton Malow

The winner of this award, according to the coaches, adapts to the demands of professional soccer day-in and day-out, steps-up to expectations, physical and mental demands, and adverse situations, shows consistency through the long, grinding year, is a leader among rookie players and constantly defies expectations. 

Winners: Hadji Barry and Sam Witteman

Fan’s Player of the Year Award | Presented by United World Soccer

This is award is voted on by the fans. With over 1,600 submissions, it was a close race for the final tallies for both teams. As many know, Orlando City fans and Pride fans are some of the most outspoken and passionate fans in their leagues. 

Winners: Joe Bendik and Ashlyn Harris 

Player’s Player of the Year Award | Presented by FAIRWINDS Credit Union

This award holds an honor all of its own. Voted on by fellow teammates, the Player’s Player of the Year is respected day-in and day-out for his or her performance, not just on game days; he or she is of utmost importance to the group, selfless, puts the team on his or her shoulders in adverse situations and defies expectations. 

Winners: Joe Bendik and Ashlyn Harris 

Golden Boot Award | Presented by Lynx Legal Services

This award is given to the players who scored the most goals during the 2016 season for their respective teams.

Winners: Cyle Larin and Kristen Edmonds 

Coaches Award | Presented by Orlando Health

The Coaches Award is given to a player who exemplifies team spirit, has a great attitude and work ethic, trains with intensity and is a positive presence in and around the locker room. 

Winners: Servando Carrasco, Aubrey Bledsoe, and Pierre da Silva. 

Community Award | Presented by Morgan Stanley

This award is presented to the players who have made the biggest impact in the local community. Both winners used their background and success to inspire the youth of Orlando. 

Winners: Kevin Alston and Christina Burkenroad

President’s Award | Presented by Real Radio 104.1 

The President’s Award is selected and presented by club President Phil Rawlins. It is given to a person, inside the organization or out, that has gone above and beyond to help further the efforts of the club. This year’s winner has been present since the early days of the club and has volunteered at nearly every club event in that time. 

Winner: Sheridan Smith