Alex Morgan, Ali Krieger and Ashlyn Harris Named to U.S. WNT 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup Roster

2019 usa world cup roster

ORLANDO, Fla. (May 2, 2019) -
With 40 days until the USA’s opening match of the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup, U.S. Women’s National Team head coach Jill Ellis has named the 23 players who will represent the United States in France this summer. Featured on the U.S. WNT’s 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup roster are three Orlando Pride players in forward Alex Morgan, defender Ali Krieger and goalkeeper Ashlyn Harris. 
This summer, the USA will face Thailand, Chile and Sweden in Group F at the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup. The U.S. will open Group F play against Thailand on June 11 (3 p.m. ET) at Auguste Delaune Stadium in Reims. The USA then faces Chile on June 16 (12 p.m. ET) at Parc des Princes in Paris, followed by Sweden on June 20 (3 p.m. ET) at Stade Océane in Le Havre. The 2019 World Cup Final will take place on July 7 in Lyon. 
Morgan, 29, will play in her third World Cup this summer. In 2011, Morgan made her Women’s World Cup debut, playing in five matches and recording two goals. In the final that year, the California native became the first player to score a goal and record an assist in a World Cup Final. Morgan returned to the World Cup in 2015 and helped the U.S. win its third-ever trophy. Morgan featured in all seven matches for the U.S. WNT and scored the game-winning goal in the Round of 16 match against Colombia.
Krieger, 34, also heads to her third World Cup after posting one of the best-ever team defensive performances in 2015. During the U.S. WNT’s victorious run through the 2015 tournament in Canada, Krieger was part of a backline that held opponents to just three goals over all seven matches with five straight shutouts from the second group stage game to the semifinal. In 2011, Krieger scored the game-winning goal in penalty kicks to send the U.S. WNT past Brazil in the quarterfinals and eventually lead the team to the final against Japan. After being one of four USA players to play all 600 minutes in the tournament, she was named to the 2011 Women’s World Cup Best XI. 
Harris, 33, has been selected to her second World Cup roster. A native of Satellite Beach, Fla., Harris was one of three goalkeepers during the 2015 Women’s World Cup in Canada, making her a world champion in her first major tournament. She has totaled 21 appearances with the U.S. WNT over her career - including two games played thus far in 2019 - and is averaging a shutout every three matches. The captain for the Orlando Pride, Harris currently leads the NWSL in total saves. 
The Women’s World Cup roster will make up the squad for the USA’s final three matches before departing for Europe. The Send-Off Series, Presented by Volpi Foods, takes place in May and will start when the USA faces South Africa on Sunday, May 12, at 1:30 p.m. PT at Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, California. From there, the USA will travel to St. Louis, Missouri for its second match, facing New Zealand on Thursday, May 16, at 7 p.m. CT at Busch Stadium. 
The U.S. players will then have their final break before the World Cup and regroup in New Jersey to conclude the Send-Off Series vs. Mexico on Sunday, May 26, at Red Bull Arena in Harrison. The match will kick off at 12 p.m. ET. 
The roster will not become official until it is submitted to FIFA on May 24, which is the deadline for all teams to submit their final squads.
2019 United States FIFA Women’s World Cup Roster by Position (Club)
GOALKEEPERS (3): Adrianna Franch* (Portland Thorns FC), Ashlyn Harris* (Orlando Pride), Alyssa Naeher* (Chicago Red Stars)
DEFENDERS (7): Abby Dahlkemper* (NC Courage), Tierna Davidson* (Chicago Red Stars), Crystal Dunn* (NC Courage), Ali Krieger* (Orlando Pride), Kelley O’Hara (Utah Royals FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (Utah Royals FC), Emily Sonnett* (Portland Thorns FC)
MIDFIELDERS (6): Morgan Brian
(Chicago Red Stars), Julie Ertz* (Chicago Red Stars), Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns FC), Rose Lavelle* (Washington Spirit), Allie Long* (Reign FC), Samantha Mewis* (NC Courage)
FORWARDS (7): Tobin Heath* (Portland Thorns FC), Carli Lloyd (Sky Blue FC), Jessica McDonald (NC Courage), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride), Christen Press (Utah Royals FC), Mallory Pugh* (Washington Spirit), Megan Rapinoe* (Reign FC)
First Women’s World Cup     

Second Women’s World Cup
Third Women’s World Cup
Fourth Women’s World Cup