What is the Concacaf Champions League?

The Concacaf Champions League is an international competition featuring the top clubs from North America, Central America, and the Caribbean.

The top teams from around the continent qualify for the international tournament by winning their domestic leagues and cup competitions or via regional qualifying competitions like the Concacaf League.

In all, 230 teams from all across North America compete for the right to play in the Concacaf Champions League. Just the top 16 teams qualify for the CCL draw.

At the draw, the 16 teams are arranged in head-to-head matchups in a bracket-style competition that begins with the Round of 16.

How does the tournament work?

The Concacaf Champions League consists of four rounds starting with the Round of 16.

In each round, two teams face each other in a home-and-away knockout format. The team with the most combined goals at the end of both legs advances. If teams finish both legs with the same number of goals, the team with the most away goals in the round advances. In the final, a penalty shootout determines the winner if both teams are level on aggregate score and away goals at the end of both matches.

Ultimately, the tournament’s winner will face the champions of the world’s other five confederations, including the UEFA Champions League winner, in the FIFA Club World Cup.

How did Orlando City qualify?

The Lions qualified for their first Concacaf Champions League after becoming the 2022 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Champions.

More Info
More Info